July 26, 2013

We need your help!  Our childrens' health and the safety of our food is being threatened by Dow AgroSciences, their lobbyists, and their Congressional lapdogs.
Just when we thought that Dow AgroSciences had been thwarted in its efforts to use the Farm Bill to overturn the EPA’s ruling that the neurotoxic food fumigant sulfuryl fluoride should be phased out, it is back again with more dirty politicking. This time it is using the 2014 House Appropriations Bill to do its dirty work.
The Republican-led House Appropriations bill looks like it will pass with the approval of the full Appropriations committee and possibly pass on the House floor in the coming weeks.  This means that the Senate is where we may have to stop this awful provision.  While the Senate version of the Appropriations bill doesn't appear to contain the same sulfuryl fluoride rider, we suspect that Dow, along with Senator Joe Donnelly, are working to include it.  This is why we need your help now, before it is too late to act.
Your emails helped keep the sulfuryl fluoride amendment off of the Farm bill, and now we need your help keeping it out of the budget.  Please contact your Senators and urge them to oppose the House Appropriations rider on Sulfuryl Fluoride, and to oppose any similar efforts using any Senate bills for these three reasons:
  • To keep intact the integrity of the Food Quality & Protection Act of 1996,
  • To protect our children from more exposure to toxic fluoride and
  • To ban undue influence from companies like Dow on government agencies that actually do their job to protect the public
1.) Contact your Senator using our automated system. We especially need your help if you live in NH, ME, OR, CA, or VT.
2.) Call your Senator.  Phone calls are 100 times more influential than emails, and Senate staff does take note of constituent positions on issues.
If you live in any of these states AK, CA, MO, MS, MT, NM, NE, ND, OR, RI, SD, TN, VT please personally contact the following Senators who are working on the bill. They are the members on the subcommittee on Interior, Environment and Related Agencies.
Democratic Subcommittee Members
Senator Jack Reed (RI) (Chairman)
Senator Dianne Feinstein (CA): DC officeCalifornia offices
Senator Patrick Leahy (VT)
Senator Tim Johnson (SD)
Senator Jon Tester (MT)

Republican Subcommittee Members
Senator Lisa Murkowski (AK) (Ranking)